top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecandicekennedy

The Proposal

On December 20, 2018, I said the easiest and best yes of my life. My eighth grade crush asked me to marry him!

Garrett planned out the sweetest and most thoughtful proposal and included both of our parents and my sisters. My family was leaving for Florida on December 23, so we decided to celebrate Christmas early, which seems to happen often. Garrett and I had been dating for two and a half years, so my parents inviting him over for Christmas was very normal to me. However, this was the first time that they invited Garrett's parents to one of our family's holidays, so I was slowly beginning to suspect something. That afternoon my sister asked my to go to Target with her to get some snacks and finger foods for that evening. I went with her and did not realize she was just trying to get me out of the house until we returned home with only makeup. I was beginning to get suspicious but did not say anything. We got home and started opening presents, and at this point I knew it was going to happen. I expected to open a present and it be a ring but that did not happen. We started taking pictures in front of the tree and I expected him to propose in the middle of a picture, but that did not happen either. I was getting a little curious but was trying to be patient. Garrett told me that he had one more present for me and it was in my old, empty bedroom. We walked in and both of our families followed us, and my mom began snapping pictures and my sister started videoing. Once we entered the room, I saw the sweetest gift ever. Garrett had printed out 100 pictures of us, starting in the eighth grade until two days before. 100! I absolutely love pictures, so this was the most perfect gift. He had used the pictures to spell out the word love and make a heart, it was precious. He walked me to the very first picture and flipped it over. He wrote a short message about that picture and then proceeded to show me that he had done that for each picture. All 100 pictures had a short and sweet memory on the back specific to that picture. I read each and every picture, trying to get to the end knowing what was coming next. I finally got to the 100th picture, which was a picture of us at our friend's wedding two days before. On the back of the last picture he wrote, "you're next." He then told me how much he loved me and my family, and some other things that I unfortunately don't remember. Yet, I do remember the most important part, Garrett getting down on one knee and asking me to marry him.

Click here to watch the sweetest video made by my sister, Chelsi. (I do not own the right to this music) https://www.facebook.com/cindy.faulkenberry.3/videos/2272747206069189/UzpfSTEwMDAwMDYyMTI4NTc0NToyMjM0OTY1NTIzMjAwODAy/






120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page